Stuck in love – My favorite part from manuscript

I’m especially fond of Lou and Sam. 🙂

Samantha Borgens:
– If love is setting a place at the table for someone who is never coming home, I think I’ll pass

-You make me feel less cynical.

./.

The conversation between Sam and her brother

Samantha Borgens:There are two kinds of people in this world: hopeless romantics and realists.

Rusty Borgens:Right.

Samantha Borgens: A realist just sees that face and packs it in with every other pretty girl they’ve ever seen before. The hopeless romantic becomes convinced that God put them on Earth to be with that one person. But there is no God and life is only as meaningful as you fool yourself into thinking it is. Guys who get laid a lot are realists. You should be listening. Just avoid love at all costs. That’s my motto.

Rusty Borgens:You’ve never been in love?

Samantha Borgens: If love is setting a place at the table for someone who is never coming home, I think I’ll pass.

Rusty Borgens: That’s fucking depressing, Sam.

./.

These following are the conversations between Sam and Lou. I really enjoyed them ^_^
Lou: Oh, hey. Wait a minute.
Sam: Excuse me.
Lou: You know I…I don’t mean to be presumptuous, but I wouldn’t do that if I were you. I mean, he sleeps with a lot of girls.You’re practically guaranteed to wake up with a rash.
Sam: Thanks for the tip.
Lou: I see you you getting snared in his web. You look like a nice girl and all, so.
Sam: I’m not a nice girl.
Lou: Well, in that case, I’m Louis. Everyone calls me Lou. Nice to meet you. No? Okay.
Sam: Look, I don’t want to hurt your feelings, but you’re wasting your time.
Lou: What, talking is a waste of time?
Sam: We’re not talking. You’re flirting with me. And you’re also cockblocking your friend.
Lou: Huh? Bon Jovi over there? He’s not my friend. He’s a dick, actually. I’m just filling in on bass for them tonight.
Sam: You’re cute, Lou. But you seek of romance and good intentions. I’m not looking for a nice guy. I don’t do boyfriends, and I don’t date.
Lou: All I heard was don’t, don’t, don’t, don’t.
Sam: Well, don’t keep people safe. I’m going to go.
Lou: Okay, well, I’ll see you in class.
Sam: Do we have a class together?
Lou: Advanced Fiction Writing.
Sam: I don’t remember you.
Lou: Well, I remember you. You have a book that’s getting published. Your dad must be thrilled.
Sam: You know an awful lot about me, Lou.
Lou: We writers are an envious bunch, so…
Sam: What’s his name?
Lou: His name is Pete. Have fun.
Sam: I will.
Lou: Cool. You’re awesome.

….

Sam: Procreation. You give to the next one down the line. That’s really all we’ve got. Society, government, money, religion, careers, nuclear families, monogamy. These are all just highly creative socially accepted delusions that we impose on reality to try and gain some semblance of control over our lives. It gives us the illusion of choice. It makes us feel a little less like animals.
Pete: Animals. What do you mean? Like evolution?
Sam: Yeah, evolution, exactly.
Pete: I do not believe in evolution.
Sam: There’s 400 billion stars in the Milky Way alone, making the number of stars in the entire universe completely mind-boggling. We are nothing. If an asteroid hadn’t hit Earth and wiped out all the dinosaurs, we wouldn’t be here.
Pete: Yeah. I’m going to go.
Sam: Good. All you creationists do is blowing chances at getting laid.
Lou: Really. Ooh, that was awkward.
Sam: You’ve really got to stop stalking me. I can’t even go anywhere without you showing up to annoy me.
Lou: Were you hitting on that guy?
Sam: It’s none of your business.
Lou: I think he’s a Mormon.
Sam: Well, what the hell is he doing here?
Lou: Trying to find other Mormon girls. I’m sure you corrupted him, ruined his relationship with God. You want to get out of here?
Sam: Do you have brain damage?
Lou: No.
Sam: I think I made it pretty clear that I have absolutely no interest in going out with you.
Lou: No, no, no. You and I are going to be friends.
Sam: But I don’t want to be friends with you.
Lou: Oh, you don’t want to be. Well, I’m going to take your jacket and you can follow me. We can get some coffee if you’d like.
Sam: I need that… jacket.

….
[At the coffee shop]
Lou: What are some of your favorite books?
Sam: Is that really the angle you’re going to play? Really? I thought you’d be more creative than this.
Lou: Well, come on, we’re writers, right?
Sam: Yeah.
Lou: Books matter to us. I mean, come on here, please.
Sam: Fine, what are some of your favorite books?
Lou: No, you can’t do that. I asked you.
Sam: Because you want to know something personal about me. If I tell you what my favorite books are, you’ll come up with the titles that will convince me that we’re soulmates, or you’ll latch onto one of my favorites and try to convince me it’s one of your favorites, too.
Lou: God, you’re so tough.
Sam: It’s why you’re obsessed with me.
Lou: I’m not obsessed with you.
Sam: I’m like a unicorn to you. You’ll do or say anything that to possess me.
Lou: I’m not like that and you’re not anything like a unicorn. Okay, well, then books.
Sam: But please, at least attempt to be interesting. No Catcher in the Rye or Portnoy’s Complaint, okay?
Lou: Well, I write mysteries, so… I love Elmore Leonard, James Lee Burke, Ed Brubaker.
Sam: Who’s Ed Brubaker ?
Lou: He writes an incredible, hard-boiled crime comic called Criminal.
Sam: Telling me that you read comic books isn’t exactly sweeping me off my feet. What’s your favorite book? Don’t think about it, just name the book that first pops into your head.
Lou: Dear Mr. Henshaw by Beverly Cleary. Been my favorite since I was a kid. Read it, like, 100 times. It’s actually what made me want to be a writer.
[She suddenly got her jacket, stood up and left…]
Lou: Hey, is something wrong?
Sam: I have to go.
Lou: Well, what… what do you mean? Did I do something?
Sam: I have to go.
Lou: Samantha. Samantha, wait. Come on.
Sam: What? What do you want from me?
Lou: What do you mean what do I want from you? I like you. I want to get to know you better.
Sam: No.
Lou: Why do you keep running away?
Sam: Because this… whatever this is between us, it can’t go any further. I won’t let it. We’re not even in the same species.
Lou: Is Dear Mr. Henshaw your favorite book, too?
Sam: I don’t do this, Lou. No.
Lou: No, of course not. You just give yourself away to assholes with infinitely lower IQs than yours.
Sam: ….. (silently leaving)
Lou: Fuck.

….

Lou’s mom: Lou? Do you see that angel by the door or am I the only one seeing her?
Lou: Oh, that… that’s definitely not an angel, Mom.
….

Lou: I’m going to walk Sam to her car. I’ll be right back, Mom. Not so fast. I made hot chocolate. It’s in the kitchen.
Sam: What’s wrong with your mom?
Lou: She, um… She has a brain tumor.
Sam: Oh, my God. I’m sorry. I can’t believe how much of a bitch I’ve been to you.
Lou: Yeah, I know, right?
Sam: Okay, yeah.
Lou: I don’t… I don’t want you to feel sorry for me. Really, I… I’ve enjoyed all of our back and forth, you know, sparring. It’s really… it’s helped me
take my mind off of all this.
Sam: Well, I’m glad I could help out.
Lou: You’re going home for Christmas?
Sam: Yeah, I’m headed back there tomorrow.
Lou: Well, I’m willing to forget about this whole stalking incident, if you will allow me to take you out on a proper date when you get back.
Sam: Okay.
Lou: Really? That easy? Yeah?
Sam: I’m not going to say it again.
Lou: Okay.
Sam: Oh, I actually… brought you an ARC of my new book.
Lou: Oh,wow.
Sam: Stalking and a present.
Lou: Under the Pink by Samantha Borgens. Look at that. Well, I will… I will read this over break. Probably aloud. My mom and I have been tearing through some books lately.
Sam: No, you can’t read it to her. It’s filled with sex and profanity.
Lou: Oh, no, she loves sex.

Lou: How was your Christmas?
Sam: It was good. Lou: Filled with family. You know, loud.
Lou: Yeah.
Sam: So you haven’t mentioned my book.
Lou: Mm. Yeah, um…
Sam: So you didn’t like it?
Lou: No, no, that’s not it. I liked it a lot. It’s incredibly well written. The characters are vibrant and alive.
Sam: But?
Lou: I mean, I knew you were cynical, but is that really how you feel about love and marriage?
Sam: I don’t know. Sometimes.

Lou: How much of that really happened?
Sam: I made most of it up. I didn’t draw that much from my parents’ divorce, other than the little girl seeing her mother having sex with the man on the beach.
Lou: Holy shit, that really happened?
Sam: Yeah. I mean, I wasn’t a little girl. I was in high school. My parents were having a party, and I was up on the roof. It was late, and my mom came staggering out of the back of the house with Martin. And she was all over him. And I remember Martin saying, “What about Bill? What if Bill sees?” And my mom replying, “I don’t care. ” …. “I – don’t – care.”
Sam: Hey,Lou?
Lou: Mm-hmm.
Sam: You make me feel less cynical.

Sam: My turn? My turn. Uh… Favorite TV show.
Lou: The Wonder Years.
Sam: Oh, all right. that’s nice.
Lou: I’m still in love with Winnie Cooper. Okay, favorite song.
Sam: Beatles. “Polythene Pam. ”
Lou: Great choice.
Sam: Thank you. Yours?
Lou: “Between the Bars” by Elliot Smith.
Sam: Play it for me.
Lou: I actually do have it here. You’re in luck. Although this is… This is really no way to… to hear a song.
Sam: Just play it.
Lou: Will you at least close your eyes, because you got to block out all this other stuff. The weather’s really distracting.
Sam: Okay. You’re funny.
# Drink up baby, stay up all night
# With the things you could do you won’t but you might
# The potential you’ll be That you’ll never see
# The promises you’ll only make
# Drink up with me now
# And forget all about the pressure of days
# Do what I say and I’ll make you okay
# And drive them away

Sam: I’m so scared right now.

# The images stuck in your head I know.

Lou: I know.

# The people you’ve been before
# That you don’t want around anymore

Sam: I don’t want to get hurt.

Lou: I’m not going to hurt you.

# I’ll keep them still
# Drink up baby, look at the stars
# I’ll kiss you again between the bars
# Where I’m seeing you there with your hands in the air
# Waiting to finally be caught
# The people you’ve been before
# That you don’t want around anymore
# Come on!
# That push and shove and won’t bend to your will
# I’ll keep them still

Between The Bars – Elliot Smith

./.

The conversation between Sam and her dad:
Bill: Your mom used to watch you like a hawk. She was terrified that the ocean was going to grab you and pull you out to sea.
Sam: Why are we talking about her? What are we doing down here?
Bill: Your mom loves you.
Sam: She never did anything to you. It’s pointless. I know what you’re going to say.
Bill: No, you don’t. Those things she did to me, the things you’ve been holding over her, I had already done to her years ago.
Sam: What are you talking about?
Bill: I fell in love with somebody, and and got lost, left.
Sam: Bullshit.
Bill: You were just a baby, and your mother waited for me.
Sam: Shut up, Dad.
Bill: She waited six months, Samantha. And when I realized what a selfish shit I’d been…
Sam: Shut up, Dad!
Bill: She took me back. It’s the truth.
Sam: You couldn’t tell me, Dad? Really? You just made me hate her!
Bill: She made me promise that if she did something as stupid as I had she hoped I’d have the decency to wait for her, so I am. I should have told you, Samantha. I’m sorry. I’m sorry.
Sam: She waited six months, Dad. You’ve been waiting three years. I think you made good on your promise. It’s okay to stop waiting.
Bill: Yeah… She’s coming back.
Sam: What makes you so sure?
Bill: Because she waited. And your mother is a far better person than I’ll ever be.

./.

Bill Borgens:Rusty, a writer is the sum of his experiences. Go get some

Leave a Reply

