Troy (2004) – My favorite conversation from the movie

indeximage1
Achilles: Who are you?
King Priam: I have endured what no one on earth has endured before. I kisses the hands of the man who killed my son.
Achilles: How do you get in here?
King Priam: I know my own country better the the Greeks, I think.
Achilles: You’re a brave man. I could have your head on a spit in the blink of an eye.
King Priam: Do you really think death frightens me now? I watched my eldest son die, watched you drag his body behind your chariot.I knew your father. He died before his time. But he was lucky not to live long enough to see his son falled. You have taken everything from me. My eldest son heir to my throne, defender of my kingdom. I cannot change what happened. It’s the will of the Gods. But give me this small mercy. I love my boy from the moment he opened his eyes till the moment you closed them. Let me wash his body. Let me say the prayers. Let me place two coins on his eyes for the boatman.
Achilles: If I let you walk out of here…if I let you take him, it doesnt change anything. You’re still my enemy in the morning.
King Priam: you’re still my enemy tonight. But even enemies can show respect.
Achilles: I admire your courage….
(he cried on the dead body of Hector) We’ll meet again soon, my brother.!!!

:((I’ve watched this movie since I was a little kid. I didn’t understand it much, watching is just watching 😦 But now, watching it for the second time, it has been touching me somehow :\, especially this scene.

“If they ever tell my story, let them say I walked with giants. Men rise and fall like the winter wheat but these names will never die. Let them say I lived in the time of Hector, tamer of horses. Let them say I lived in the time of Achilles”

Leave a Reply

